Booragoon Lions Club Inc

District 201W2, Western Australia, Australia

Youth of The Year Quest


Four candidates competed in our Club’s 2017 Youth of The Year competition  -- Breanna Tory, Sara Coombs, Sarah Ciccarelli from Santa Maria College and Pooja Ramesh from Perth Modern College. Pooja Ramesh was the voted overall winner. Sarah Ciccerelli won the public speaking section.

The judging panel members were Allan Mclean (Chairman of Judges), Barbara Stuart and Rachelle Lewis (representing National Australia Bank). NAB is the national sponsor of the Lions YOTY contest.


Booragoon Lions Club's Youth of The Year Club Final was held on 9 February 2016 at the Willagee Community Centre.   The contestants were Monique Shearwood, Elizabeth Stevens, Jessica Brown, Demi Bradford and Sarah Ciccarelli from Santa Maria College.  

Sarah Ciccarelli was judged as both the Public Speaking winner and the Club Finalist.  Her winning speech was entitled "Great Things Come in Small Packages". Sarah will represent our club at the District Final to be held on 2 April 2016 at the Flying Angel Club in Fremantle.  

The judging panel comprised of Jeff Law (National Australia Bank), Barbara Stuart and Allan McLean.  The participants were highly commended by the judges for the quality of speeches they delivered  as part of their club final event.