Booragoon Lions Club Inc

District 201W2, Western Australia, Australia

Children of Courage

Lions Children of Courage Awards

The Lions Children of Courage Award Program is an important annual project of Lions Clubs International in Western Australia. The program was introduced in 1983 by the late Past District Governor Joe Mason, AOM, who saw a need to provide for an awards program through which Lions Clubs in Western Australia could recognize a very special group of young Western Australians - and their families.

The Award categories are:

1. Special Needs Children who have shown courage in the face of adversity, including children confined to wheelchairs, children who are sight, hearing or speech impaired or have undergone long periods of medical treatment, surgery or hospitalization, which has perhaps brought pain and trauma to their young lives. Nominees in this category will be those children who have attempted to overcome these obstacles and who have striven to improve the quality of their lives.

2. Courageous Act or Deed  -  A child who, without regard for personal safety, has been instrumental in the preservation of life and/or property, or has rendered assistance at an accident, or whose concern for others is worthy of recognition.

3. Outstanding Sporting Achievements  -  A child who has overcome personal hardship and/or disadvantage to achieve a high degree of sporting prowess as an individual, or as a good team member.

Each year the Lions Club of Booragoon nominates youngsters to receive awards at the Ceremony.